National Scientific Advisory Committee

Our National Scientific Advisory Committee shapes and guides the science we generate and disseminate.

Committee members:

  • Assist with overall strategic research guidance
  • Advise on technical aspects of the science and scientific integrity
  • Help to expand activities in research, capacity building, and policy outreach
  • Facilitate research priority setting
title-inside title-centered
norman anderson

Dr. Norman B. Anderson is a clinical psychologist who has had a wide-ranging career as a national leader, first as a scientist and tenured professor studying health disparities and mind/body health, and later as an executive in government, non-profit, and higher education sectors.   

howard henderson

Dr. Howard Henderson is the Founding Director of the Center for Justice Research and professor of justice administration in the Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs.

pamela lattimore

Dr. Pamela K. Lattimore leads the justice and safety programs at RTI International. Her research focuses on evaluating interventions and investigating the causes and correlates of criminal behavior, including substance use and mental health.

keith parker

Dr. Keith D. Parker is a Professor in the Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice. 

faye taxman

Dr. Faye S. Taxman is a health service criminologist recognized for her work in the development of seamless systems-of-care models that link the criminal justice system with other service delivery systems.


Dr. Michael Vaughn is a Professor at the College for Public Health and Social Justice at St. Louis University. His research interests include behavioral health disorder prevention and intervention, biosocial research and theory, and issues and
policy related to adolescent problem behaviors.

james robert walker

James Robert Walker is a retired Assistant Professor from the University of Kentucky.  His areas of expertise are social work ethics and behavioral health.